Archives

Books & Graphic Novels

Ashes to Ashes: Death: A Graveside Companion Book Release

green-wood cemetery, death a graveside companion, joanna ebenstein

Death: A Graveside Companion, eidted by Joanna Ebenstein, featuring the Richard Harris art collection. (Thames & Huson 2017) Photo: © 2017 Peter Parrella

Spooky Sunday #6
Read the rest of this entry »

Devil in the Details: Little Shoppe of Horrors Documents Final Hammer Film

to the devel a daughter, christopher lee, nastassja kinsky, little shoppe of horros magazine

Artist Belle Dee illustrates “To the Devil…A Daughter” for the cover of Little Shoppe of Horrors #39.


Read the rest of this entry »

Putting Out The Fire With Gasoline: Meet the Superwomen of DC Comics’ “Gotham City Garage”

Gotham City Garage Statues from DC Collectibles – Wonder Woman as you’ve never seen her before!

DC Collectibles has been adding to their Gotham City Garage statue series over the last few years and showcasing them at Toy Fair and Comic Con. SkeletonPete knew I’d fall in love with them. He knows me too well. I was instantly drawn to these gorgeous sculptures, these beautiful superwomen on motorcycles, in particular, Wonder Woman, my childhood hero.

When I saw these DC heroines reimagined as fierce biker chicks, I could instantly envision a live action or animated series set in this universe. Shortly thereafter, creators Jackson Lanzing and Collin Kelly announced their plan for a comic book series of the same name. I couldn’t wait to dive in and that’s unusual for me, as I’m not typically a comic book collector. Well played, DC. Mission accomplished. You reeled me in… and at 99 cents per digital download, it was an investment I was more than happy to make.
Read the rest of this entry »

Spilt Milk & Dazed Cookies: Hozac Publishes Sal Maida Memoir

sal maida, hozac records
In the true spirit of “stuff we like, you might too…” here’s a heads-up on a new book any fan of 1970’s Power Pop and Glam Rock will be curious to read. 4 strings, Phony Proof, and 300 45’s is musician Sal Maida’s memoir of life in the heyday of the aforementioned genres. His adventures on both sides of the Atlantic should make a great read for fans of Roxy Music, Sparks, early power punk and the 1970’s New York City Punk Rock scene.

Read the rest of this entry »

Wright-On: Hermes Press Highlights Bernie’s Animation Art

sdcc, sdcc17, bernie wrightson, hermes press

Hermes Press will hold a special panel discussion at SDCC17 to launch their new Bernie Wrightson publication.

SDCC17 Panel Discussion This Week…

Fans of the late horror and fantasy artist Bernie Wrightson who are attending San Diego ComicCon 2017 (SDCC17) will not want to miss a special panel discussion being held by Hermes Press. The event will herald the publication of the company’s Bernie Wrightson: Art & Designs for Gang of Seven Animation Studios and be hosted by Gang of Seven Animation director/producer Tom Tataranowicz.
Read the rest of this entry »