Archives

Books & Graphic Novels

Putting Out The Fire With Gasoline: Meet the Superwomen of DC Comics’ “Gotham City Garage”

Gotham City Garage Statues from DC Collectibles – Wonder Woman as you’ve never seen her before!

DC Collectibles has been adding to their Gotham City Garage statue series over the last few years and showcasing them at Toy Fair and Comic Con. SkeletonPete knew I’d fall in love with them. He knows me too well. I was instantly drawn to these gorgeous sculptures, these beautiful superwomen on motorcycles, in particular, Wonder Woman, my childhood hero.

When I saw these DC heroines reimagined as fierce biker chicks, I could instantly envision a live action or animated series set in this universe. Shortly thereafter, creators Jackson Lanzing and Collin Kelly announced their plan for a comic book series of the same name. I couldn’t wait to dive in and that’s unusual for me, as I’m not typically a comic book collector. Well played, DC. Mission accomplished. You reeled me in… and at 99 cents per digital download, it was an investment I was more than happy to make.

Gotham City Garage Variant Cover featuring Wonder Woman


“I will fight for those who cannot fight for themselves.” – Diana of Themyscira
(Wonder Woman – 2017 Film)

 

Starting with Hope…

Set in a post-apocalyptic world where our legendary DC heroes are half-remembered dreams, myths to most, and Lex Luthor reigns supreme, Kara Gordon (yes, she should sound familiar) longs for better days. She imagines her childhood hero – who happens to be the same as mine – fighting for the downtrodden, the oppressed, and the helpless, meting out justice.

However, it seems Wonder Woman can only be found the pages of Kara’s contraband comic books. Diana, Princess of the Amazons, does not exist in her world. There is no Justice League. There is no justice… not in this gray, numb existence in Gotham City… or rather The Garden, as Lex has renamed it – a place where you accept his love or suffer the consequences.

In this bleak world, Lex controls the masses with nanotechnology – brain implants (similar in concept to the caps worn by humans in The Tripods, or think of the evil Federation in Blake’s 7  controlling the populace with drugs – but I digress, as I often do…). A RoboCop looking army called The Gardeners, resembling none other than Batman, patrols the streets, keeping the sleep-walking city residents in check.

Kara, a compassionate tech, not unlike her sister before her, learns her father, Jim Gordon, has been keeping a secret from her. Before he is able to reveal too much, he and his daughter come under attack. He urges her to leave, to run to the sky. Lex sets his army loose on Kara, and heeding her father’s words, she runs for it, leaping across rooftops to reach for the sky. Dodging a hail of bullets and leaping through the protective dome encasing The Garden, she narrowly escapes… and in doing so, discovers her powers… and the world beyond The Garden.

Gotham City Garage Cover featuring Harley Quinn

 

Live Free, Die Hard – Meet our Road Warriors…

In the wasteland outside the dome, Kara encounters a group of Furiosa-like rebels. This is a chance to see your favorite DC heroines (and villains) in a completely different light. Never assume anything in Gotham City Garage. Here, the good guys aren’t always good and the bad guys… well… see for yourself.

The women of Gotham City Garage are freedom loving outlaws, anti-heroes, engaged in an ongoing struggle against tyranny and oppression — fighting for those who cannot fight for themselves. This is an amazingly odd, but fascinating, team up — Big Barda alongside Silver Banshee, Catwoman, and Harley Quinn – presumably with more familiar faces to come, but I take it at face value and go along for the ride.

Andy Says – A Hell of a Thrill Ride… 

Brian Ching does the art for the first issue and is followed by Lynne Yoshii for issue #2 and the series will have rotating artists from the DC Talent Development Workshop.

Each issue of Gotham City Garage is divided into two installments or chapters. Each installment is a fast-paced, action-packed roller coaster ride. Creators Kelly and Lanzig deliver a huge dose of girl power in these quick shots (Did you say female empowerment? Yes please, may I have another?) and I, for one, cannot be happier. This series is a well-written, engaging, shot of adrenaline that leaves you wanting more. And yes, after only three installments, I definitely want to see this in animated form (at least). Make it so, DC!

Gotham City Garage debuted on August 16th, 2017, and the first three installments of this digital series are available for download via the DC Comics App, readdcentertainment.com, iBooks, ComiXology, Google Play, Kindle Store and Nook Store, with new issues released bi-weekly, then weekly, with full issues coming out in print starting in October 2017.

 

Click Any Image to Launch the Gallery

Spilt Milk & Dazed Cookies: Hozac Publishes Sal Maida Memoir

sal maida, hozac records
In the true spirit of “stuff we like, you might too…” here’s a heads-up on a new book any fan of 1970’s Power Pop and Glam Rock will be curious to read. 4 strings, Phony Proof, and 300 45’s is musician Sal Maida’s memoir of life in the heyday of the aforementioned genres. His adventures on both sides of the Atlantic should make a great read for fans of Roxy Music, Sparks, early power punk and the 1970’s New York City Punk Rock scene.

Read the rest of this entry »

Wright-On: Hermes Press Highlights Bernie’s Animation Art

sdcc, sdcc17, bernie wrightson, hermes press

Hermes Press will hold a special panel discussion at SDCC17 to launch their new Bernie Wrightson publication.

SDCC17 Panel Discussion This Week…

Fans of the late horror and fantasy artist Bernie Wrightson who are attending San Diego ComicCon 2017 (SDCC17) will not want to miss a special panel discussion being held by Hermes Press. The event will herald the publication of the company’s Bernie Wrightson: Art & Designs for Gang of Seven Animation Studios and be hosted by Gang of Seven Animation director/producer Tom Tataranowicz.
Read the rest of this entry »

Cold Brew: Hellboy & B.P.R.D. 1954 Series Begins

bellboy, dark horse comics, mike mignola

Dark Horse Comics “Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1954: Black Sun” #1, Artist Mike Huddleston

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1954: Black Sun #1
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: September 21, 2016

No Spoilers…

Chillin’…
Writers Mike Mignola and Chris Robeson in collaboration with artist Stephen Green and colorist Dave Stewart, bring their most famous creation to an arctic setting. There’s plenty of action and intrigue blended with the deadpan humor we’ve come to expect from our favorite scion of Hades. Fans of 1950’s science fiction will find Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1954: Black Sun an absolute bulls-eye. Issue one is filled with overtones of the John W. Campbell novella “Who Goes There?,” most notably filmed as The Thing from Another World in the 1950’s by Howard Hawks and in the 1980’s by John Carpenter simply as The Thing.

Black Sun issue 1 introduces us to a new B.P.R.D. affiliate, the young cryptozoologist Woodrow Farrier. The character seems named with a bit of a nudge and a wink, as a farrier is a horse shoeing specialist. By the issues’ end the adventure expands beyond a Yeti hunt into unexpected territory.

This Dark Horse Comics series opener skates your way on September 21, 2016.
bellboy, dark horse comics, mike mignolaSkeletonpete Says…
Hmm, as a speculative setting for a third Hellboy movie this might afford director Guillermo Del Toro a gateway to the frosty Mountains of Madness after all .
bellboy, dark horse comics, mike mignola

Pleasant Valley Sunder: Dark Horse’s “Lady Killer” Returns

dark horse comics, lady killer, joelle jones

Clogged Drain? Call Roto-Ruthless. Josie lounges on the job for the cover of “Lady Killer” Series 2 #2.

Lady Killer 2 #1
Dark Horse Comics
On Sale: August 3, 2016
Artist, Writer, Cover Artist: Joëlle Jones
Variant Cover Issue 1: Michelle Madsen

Daily Grind…
At the opera it ain’t over ’til the fat lady sings, in Josephine Schuller’s world it ain’t over ’til there’s a hammer hanging out of that diva’s noggin’. Writer and artist Joelle Jones and Dark Horse Comics return to the swingin’ 60’s for a second round of adventures with the one woman suburban death squad known as Lady Killer. Series 2 will span 5 issues, with number 1 on sale in August. Read the rest of this entry »